Christmas Candy Countdown

One of my favorite things to do throughout the month of December is make candy. I don’t do this any other time of the year, but for a lot of reasons I have fond memories of home-made candy during the Holidays. So this year, I thought I’d try to be a little more methodical about my candy-making.

Usually I tend to wait until close to the last minute and then have 1-2 days of frenzied candy making. Not this year! I’ve already begun, and for the next week I’ll be focusing on 1-3 recipes per day (depending on the complexity of the recipe). Here’s what I’ll be making:

  • Microwave Peanut Brittle. I literally called a person a liar when they told me back in 1999 that they made peanut brittle in the microwave. Now I wouldn’t make it any other way.
  • Fudge. Classic, beaten fudge – chocolate, sugar, cream and butter. Not the stuff with marshmallows. Not that there’s anything wrong with that.
  • Divinity. This year is the first time I’ll be making divinity, but it’ll have some chocolate and butterscotch thrown in for good measure.
  • Peanut Butter Balls. Not the Shwetty Balls from SNL!
  • Coconut Bon-Bons. Like little Mounds bars.
  • Chocolate Mint Striped Candy. Tastes like Andes mints, and very pretty on a candy tray.
  • Chocolate-Dipped Stuff. Pretzels, nuts and marshmallows. Even peanut-butter filled pretzels. YUM.
  • Grandma Gleason’s Peanut Butter Crunch Candy. An old favorite of mine I haven’t made in years.
  • Rice Crispy Treats with Peanut Butter and Fudge. Saw this recipe last week on a blog post, can’t wait to try it.
  • White Trash. Nothing says Christmas in Kansas City like a whole mess of white trash.

I will be posting pictures and recipes (or links to recipes) throughout the next week as I do all this. Whee!

And yes, I recognize the irony in posting this right after posting about having a major bariatric surgery. Suffice to say that I’ll be trying to enjoy this Christmas season’s candy as much as I can, because I won’t be able to even eat this type of stuff after the surgery…

Leave a Reply

