Mass Transit in Kansas City

I would love to be able to get from my home in the Northland to my job in Johnson County. I’d much rather have someone else drive and I’d be happy to read, listen to podcasts or watch videos. I’d love it, love it, love it.

The problem is that it’s just not possible. I checked out the Metro site this morning and had it find me the “shortest” route from Barry at North Oak to Metcalf at 105th. The result?

Your trip will take approximately 2h29 min. You have 2 transfer(s) and the total walking duration is +/- 19 min.

2.5 hours to get to work. That would require me to be at the bus stop at 5:30am to get to work by 8. And then – assuming I managed to catch a bus around 5pm, which may or may not be possible – I could be at home by 7:30.

My morning commute takes around 40 minutes during rush hour. For the sake of traveling on public transit I think I’d be willing to double that, so that would be an hour and 20 minutes. But two and a half hours? I just can’t quite do that.

Leave a Reply

