Some New Features

I added some sidebar widgets that WordPress graciously exposes for free to the site today. The latest three pictures from Flickr are displayed, and you can link directly to Flickr from the widget. I also went through and tagged my old pasts and put a tag cloud on the site, which amuses me because it is blatantly apparent that I rant more than anything else here.

I’ve posted pictures from Lily’s birthday party last weekend into Flickr. It was a lot of fun – it is hard to believe that Lily is a year old already! All of the cousins are getting so big. TJ is talking more and more, and new words seem to be popping out every day. Lily is a hoot – she is walking all over the place. Kiera is SO CLOSE to walking – she stands up all the time, but just wasn’t set out on her own quite yet. Abby is starting to crawl around, I expect she’ll be terrorizing Arnold the dog any day now. Wes is such a big boy, he’s going to preschool and he is doing so well with TJ.

In a couple of weeks it’ll be Kiera’s first birthday too! I am thinking about getting a new camera. One of the annoyances of my otherwise nice Panasonic DMC-FZ10 is that it’s LCD screen isn’t sharp enough for me to tell if it is really in focus or not. Trying to use glasses while looking through the viewfinder is a challenge, and the camera wants to focus on a specific point in the picture, so if I happen to get the focus wrong I end up with many fuzzy pictures. I’ve seen a lot of newer cameras that have face-focusing technology, and they seem pretty darn nice.

2 Responses to Some New Features

  1. Rebecca says:

    Can I recommend a camera for you?
    The Canon 40D is sweet — along with any of the Canon digital SLR’s. That way as you go along you can always get better and better lenses. Any questions, you have my e-mail addy!

  2. Dwain says:

    You know, I’ve been looking at the Canon DSLR range closely. It seems to me that the only way to really get everything I want is to go with a DSLR, but that means having to get different lenses for all the things I like. :\ One of the things I really like doing is nature photography, so that means a decent telephoto or tp-zoom, and those are really freaking expensive! But I guess you get what you pay for there.

Leave a Reply

