So far, So cool

Well, this post comes by way of IE 7 on Vista Ultimate…installed in Boot Camp on Mac OS X Leopard. Here’s what I have done today:

  • 4:15pm – Left work so I could get home and down to the Plaza around 6pm to go to the Apple Store
  • 6:00pm – Arrive on the Plaza to find a line outside the Apple store going around the block – I estimate around 250 people. Ick. And absolutely no parking…I hate the Plaza
  • 6:10pm – While trying to find parking I get fed up and say that we’re going to the OP Best Buy with the new Apple section.
  • 6:40pm – Arrive at the Best Buy in Overland Park. Walk in, pick up Leopard. No line. Walk around for a few minutes, then check out and leave.
  • 8:00pm – Get home after having a quick dinner and start the upgrade process. The slowest part was the DVD check process….
  • 8:30pm – DVD check is done. Install starts, says it’ll take 1 hour 20 minutes. I go down to play Sims 2 Castaways on the Wii and forget about time…
  • 11:30pm – Come back up to find the Mac at the Leopard login screen. Log in and start messing around – pretty cool so far. I like the reflective dock and I don’t find the transluscent menu bar to be too annoying.
  • 11:45pm – Start up the boot camp assistant after using Disk Utility to burn my Vista Ultimate ISO to DVD. NICE that OS X has that in it. Read through the install guide, partition a 32gb drive for Windows, then start the Vista install.
  • 12:45pm – Install of Vista is done. It went pretty quick once the files were decompressed. Installed Boot Camp drivers, and was surprised when my wireless keyboard worked without a problem in Vista. Reboot count: 4 reboots so far – 2 during install, 1 after Windows Update, 1 after Boot Camp update…
  • 1:00am – Uh oh, the reboot AFTER the boot camp update has caused my keyboard to no longer work. Fun new Vista feature – on-screen keyboard, which allows me to enter my password and log in. Very handy. Run the Bluetooth configuration and it finds the keyboard OK.
  • 1:00-2:00am – Screwing around with Vista. I haven’t really played with it too much but it looks…like it’s trying pretty hard. My experience score on the iMac is a whopping 5.1 – and the bottleneck is the memory, of all things! My graphics performance is 5.7-5.9, which is awesome.

Performance wise, Vista is running very well so far. I am about to install Civ IV and see how it goes. I will say that the startup/shutdown with OS X is MUCH faster than Vista. MUCH. So far, my experience with Leopard and Vista is pretty darn good – the only hiccup was my wireless keyboard, and that was a quick thing to fix. So now I’ll try a game install and then probably get some sleep…

Leave a Reply

