Pardon Me While I Play With My Wii

Last November, my wonderful wife accompanied me on the adventure that culminated with the procurement of a Nintendo Wii. I won’t bore you with the gory details of that endeavor – it was actually much less painful than the horror that many other people I know had to go through, especially those that waited 10+ hours at Wal-Mart. I ended up waiting around 4 hours at a Circuit City.

Anyway, I ended up with a Wii and three games – Zelda, something else and something else. To be honest, I haven’t even opened those other two games – Zelda consumed my every game-playing minute. These games are freaking addictive – I did a little playing back on the NES, but really got sucked in on the N64 with the Ocarina of Time, IMHO the best. Game. Ever. Majora’s mask was decent, Wind Waker was fun but short, Minish Cap was enjoyable, but Twilight Princess…man, that was awesome. Better than Ocarina? Maybe. Probably not, but darned close.

It took me around 50 hours of gameplay to finish the game. I spent plenty of time on sidequests, but I still managed to be short ONE piece of heart and ONE stinking poe soul! ARGH! I did manage to get all the different pairs of bugs for cute little Agatha, but those two missing things make me angry. That final fight, though…MAN. I think it took me about a half hour, it was brutal! And so much fun.

The other game I’ve been focusing on has been Wii Sports. Jen and I play bowling and tennis almost every day now, and while I’m still the king of the hill at tennis, she’s giving me more than a run for my money at bowling. I have a hard time rolling the ball consistently, so I’ve managed to set my high of 255 but still keep bowling the occasional 160 game. Yeesh.

One of those two other games I got was the Marvel Ultimate Alliance, so I might actually start messing with it soon. So far I love the Wii – the internet browsing is pretty cool (I can even check work mail on my Nintendo – shudder), but I haven’t yet downloaded a classic game. Once Super Mario Bros. 3 or Super Mario World come out, I’M THERE.

Leave a Reply

