Christmas Candy Countdown – Crunchy Peanut Butter Puffs

p1030775_2

This recipe really takes me back. When I was a tyke growing up in eastern Iowa, each year we would come down to Kansas City at Christmas to visit both of my sets of grandparents. My Grandma Gleason was a great cook, and she made a variety of different candies – including this, which I call Crunchy Peanut Butter Puffs. These couldn’t be simpler, but they’re really delicious. 

That’s the way my Grandma’s recipes are – simple but delicious. She passed away about 10 years ago, and making this candy for my family each year is a simple way for me to remember her. 

Grandma Gleason’s Crunchy Peanut Butter Puffs

  • 1 Cup Sugar
  • 1 Cup Light Corn Syrup
  • 2 Cups Peanut Butter (I prefer smooth, but crunchy would certainly work)
  • 4 Cups Regular Cap’n Crunch cereal (or the nearest store-brand equivalent)
  1. Combine the sugar and corn syrup in a saucepan and bring to a boil.
  2. Once the sugar/syrup mixture is boiling, remove from heat and stir in the peanut butter.
  3. Pour the peanut butter syrup mixture over the cereal and stir to coat
  4. Drop tablespoons of the coated cereal mixture onto cookie sheets lined with parchment or wax paper, then allow to cool

See? Simple! But so tasty. These have a sweet and salty, creamy and crunchy thing going on that’ll keep people asking for more.

Source: My Grandma, Jeannette Gleason

Leave a comment